Mississaugan awarded Order of Canada

May 9, 2014 - All News

MISSISSAUGA — Mississauga resident Aditya Jha — one of Canada’s leading entrepreneurs, philanthropists and social activists — is among 45 honoured with Canada’s highest civilian award, the Order of Canada.
Governor General David Johnston bestowed the honours, given out for outstanding achievement, dedication to the community and service to the nation, during a ceremony Wednesday in Ottawa.
“I came to Canada 19 years ago and such a big honour was not even in my dreams,” said Jha. “It looks like I got the award, but Canada is a place that pays you back and allows people to flourish.
“I am very proud to be in Canada. This is such a great honour,” said Jha.
Jha, originally from Terai, a village divided between India and Nepal, runs several philanthropic initiatives through POA Educational Foundation — his private charitable foundation — promoting education and nurturing entrepreneurship to equalize the access to opportunity for those not so fortunate.
After migrating to Canada in 1994, he joined Bell Canada and was promoted to a general manager position.
In 2007, Jha bought a chocolate factory in Hamilton that was about to close down putting at stake more than 160 jobs.
“I bought the factory, revived it, and within one year brought it back to profitable position… I am proud to save some 165 jobs,” said Jha.
He said though he sold the company after two years. It is still running and doing well in the market.
Jha has also worked in Singapore and Australia.
He also co-founded a software company (Isopia Inc.), that was eventually acquired by Sun Microsystems for over $100 million.
Moreover, he has also successfully launched a project that nurtures prosperity and financial independence amongst First Nations peoples.
Jha also chairs the India AIDS Campaign within UNICEF Canada’s Unite For Children and Unite Against Aids campaign.
Since 2008, Jha has also been involved in a project called One laptop Per Child and has since distributed more than 100 laptops to rural schools in Nepal, including Nuns’ Welfare Foundations.
The following is a list of this year’s Order of Canada recipients:
Members of the Order of Canada
Baha Abu-Laban, Edmonton
Ewan Affleck, Yellowknife, N.W.T.
Elizabeth Baird, Toronto
Walter Boudreau, Montreal
Rabbi Reuven P. Bulka, Ottawa
Édith Cloutier, Val d’Or, Que.
Shelagh Day, Vancouver
Clare Drake, Edmonton, Alta.
Louise Forestier, Montreal
Geoffrey David Green, Chelsea, Que.
James Dickinson Irvin, Pointe-Claire, Que.
Elisapee Ishulutaq, Pangnirtung, Nunavut
Aditya Jha, Mississauga
James Peter (Hamish) Kimmins, Denman Island, B.C.
Lucia Kowaluk, Montreal
Jacques Lacombe, Montreal
Janice MacKinnon, Saskatoon
Murray D. McEwen, Acton
Heather Anne Menzies, Ottawa
Wesley Nicol, Ottawa
Constance V. Pathy, Montreal
Monica Patten, Ottawa
J. Derek Riley, Winnipeg
Michel Ringuet, Rimouski, Que.
Sandra Rotman, Toronto
Kelly Russell, Bell Island, N.L.
Elexis Schloss, Edmonton
Aurel Schofield, Dieppe, N.B.
Gilbert Sicotte, Montreal
Linda Silver Dranoff, Toronto
Vaclav Smil, Winnipeg
Joan C. Snyder, Calgary
Donald Creighton Rae Sobey, Stellarton, N.S.
Sara Vered, Ottawa
Beverley Wybrow, Toronto
Officers of the Order of Canada
Gilles Brassard, Montréal
Douglas Coupland, Vancouver
Céline Galipeau, Montréal
John Ross Grace, Vancouver
Sherrill E. Grace Vancouver
Ronald (Ronnie) Hawkins, Douro-Dummer, Ont.
Carole Laure, Montréal
Deepa Mehta, Toronto
Robert Brent Thirsk, Ottawa
Dafydd (Dave) Rhys Williams, Oakville.